Our firm is ready to handle every aspect of your DUI case

Defending Your Driving Privileges

After getting arrested for a DUI, you have a short time span of only 10 days to request a hearing through the North Dakota Department of Transportation.  This hearing will determine whether you get to keep your driving privileges in North Dakota or if they will be suspended or even revoked for a period of time.

After requesting your hearing, ND DOT will set a time for the hearing (usually within 25 days of the arrest).  This hearing will be designed to try and prove that you were driving while intoxicated, and that the stop and subsequent arrest was legitimate.  Don't go in to this hearing alone and unprepared.  Let our experienced and knowledgeable attorneys fight for your right to drive in the state of North Dakota.  Our firm will handle everything that needs to be done regarding your driving privileges.  This includes putting in the request, gathering the evidence, and organizing a defense that will best advocate for you during the hearing.  Our dedicated approach has earned us a high winning percentage on behalf of our clients in North Dakota.

DUI Penalties For 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th Offenses In North Dakota

The maximum penalties for a 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th DUI conviction will depend on the BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of an individual. In North Dakota, a person who is of legal age (21+) is considered intoxicated with a BAC of .08 percent or higher.  For minors (under 21) there is a zero tolerance policy for a BAC of .02 percent or higher.​​

General Guidelines for DUI Penalties

  • First Offense: (Class B misdemeanor) Penalties may include:

    •  $500-$750 in fines

    • Possibility of a 2 day jail sentence

    • 91-180 day license suspension.

  • Second Offense in 7 years: (Class B misdemeanor)  Penalties may include:

    • Up to $1,500 in fines

    • Possibility of a 10 day jail sentence

    • 1-2 years of license suspension or revocation

  • Third offense in 7 years: (Class A misdemeanor) Penalties may include:

    • Up tp $2,000 in fines

    • Possibility of up to 120 days in jail

    • 2-3 years of license suspension or revocation

  • Fourth offense in 15 years: (Class C felony) Penalties may include:

    • Up to $2,000 in fines

    • Possibility of up to 1 year in jail

    • 2 years of supervised probation.

    • Revocation of license

CONTACT
US

Tel. 701-572-3966

After Hrs. 701-651-9082

417 1st Ave E 
Williston, ND 58801

VISIT
US

417 1st Ave E, Ste 5

Williston, ND 58801

Monday  - Friday 8:00 - 5:00

By Appointment

TELL
US

Thanks for submitting!